July 2017 ~ Month in Review

I don’t know about you, but July has been a busy month for me! Aside from starting graduate school, I attended 2 book events, met 6 authors, and read 12 YA novels this month!

Books I read This Month:

July2017

In my last blog post I’d mentioned YA contemporary is not my cup of tea; however, when I do read YA contemporary I read the most heartbreaking, emotional, and intense novels in one month. Novels that have left me emotionally broken and questioning my own morality for putting myself through so much (Spoiler alert: I don’t regret my decisions).

Some of the heavy hitter novels were: The Female of the Species, The Hate U Give, The Serpent King, and Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe. They are exceptional examples of experiences and emotions readers can relate to and feel justified rather than romanticized. Not only were they all beautifully written but, I cannot stress this enough, these are novels this world needs right now.

But I also have to give some love to I am Princess X by Cherise Priest! It’s a great YA mystery about two young girls, Libby & May, who created this kick-butt warrior: Princess X. But when Libby dies is in a car accident, the legacy of Princess X dies along with her. Fast forward a couple years later, May finds Princess X resurrected in the form of a web comic on a site called IAmPrincessX.com and she knows Libby is behind it which means she’s alive. What makes this book even more awesome is the amazing artwork by Kali Ciesemier! Check out some of the artwork below and on the I am Princess X website:

princesscomic 1

Bookish Events this Month

In July, I attended two book events: Mackenzi Lee’s event for her new novel The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue which was moderated by Anna-Marie McLemore, author of When the Moon was Ours, and the Penguin Teen Summer Tour book event. The Penguin Teen Summer Tour had a group of four amazing authors; Romina Russell (Zodiac), Danielle Vega (Merciless), Aditi Khorana (The Library of Fates), and Morgan Rhodes (The Falling Kingdoms).

Reading Challenge Updates:

Goodreads 2017 Reading Challenge Progress: 28/100

Notable Posts from this Month:

Fight Like a YA Girl Book Tag

What I Look Forward to in August:

What I look forward to the most next month will be to participate in #ARCAugust!

ARCAugust
This will be my opportunity to tackle some of the ARCs I have on TBR pile and keep up with other bloggers on social media! August alone is going to have some amazing releases too and I am beyond excited!

ARCs I Plan to Read Next Month:

Wonder Woman:Warbringer, Warcross, A Map for Wrecked Girls, A League of American Traitors, and They Both Die at the End.

August

Authors I am excited to meet next month:

Meg Cabot, Leigh Bardugo, Kasie West, Kim Culbertson, Jessica Taylor, and Misa Siguira.

 

2 thoughts on “July 2017 ~ Month in Review

Leave a Reply

