8 Things I Wish Someone Told Me When I Graduated College

About a year ago I graduated with my Bachelor’s degree and wrote a blog post for the San Jose Public Library about “8 Things I Wish Someone Told Me When I Graduated High School.” In a couple weeks I will be preparing to attend graduate school to get my Master’s degree and wanted to write a similar post, but discussing 8 Things I Wish Someone Told Me When I Graduated College based on my experiences this past year as a college graduate.

rachel1

1. Connections, connections, connections!

It’s true you can get hired based off your academics, experience, and merit, but you need connections. Success can be found by knowing the right people who can help you get your foot in the door; thus, it’s important to network whilst in college, and after, in order to build relationships with professors or administrators to benefit you in the future.

2. Don’t be afraid to make someone mad.

One of the most important lessons I’ve learned this past year is to make decisions you know will either further your career, enrich your life, or whatever makes you happy. You can always take the opinions of others into account, but you shouldn’t have to worry about what other people think about the decisions you make. Because those decisions are for you and your life, not to please others.

3. 🎶 Work, work, work, work, work, work 🎶

The intensity of work you do as a full-time employee increases exponentially; you’re responsible for yourself and your work more than ever. Not only will you be held to a higher standard but you’ll have tougher obligations and difficult decisions to make! Whether you work for a company or are a freelancer, the work you do is a reflection of yourself and worth ethic; thus, it’s imperative to learn from your experiences to grow as a person and employee to be successful.

4. Never neglect your mental health.

I know this is something I had included in my first post, but I cannot stress this enough: never neglect your mental health. No interview, job, or relationship is worth the mental stress. Sometimes you just have to say “enough is enough” and take a day off and give yourself the necessary time to heal and recuperate.

5. You get to choose the kind of adult you want to be. It’s ok to be different!

Never mold yourself to fit societal norm. Be the kind of adult where you can be comfortable in your own skin without the pressure of others. The choice is always yours.

6. F R I E • N D S

It’s natural to grow apart from your friends and sometimes it’s healthy to let go of friendships that you deem toxic. Because there will be people who are looking out for themselves only and are oblivious to others; thus, it’s more important to surround yourself with people who will help build you up, not tear you down.

7. Don’t live a life full of regrets.Green

Looking back at my time in college and this past year after graduating, I discovered I was my own worst enemy. I wish I participated more and took a hold of opportunities, but I didn’t believe in my own ability to succeed. I don’t regret the decisions I did make, but I do regret the ones that I didn’t make.

8. Enjoy the little things.

Just as Tallahassee had greatly quoted in Zombieland,You can’t spend all your time worrying about where your next Twinkie is going to come from,” because life will always go on and it will be full of both positive and negative experiences! But sometimes you need to stop and remember to enjoy the little things in life. Even if that means finding happiness within a deep-fried dessert!

Little Things

2 thoughts on “8 Things I Wish Someone Told Me When I Graduated College

Leave a Reply

