When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

28458598When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon
Published May 30, 2017 by Simon Pulse

Young Adult Contemporary

Goodreads’ Descriptions:
Dimple Shah has it all figured out. With graduation behind her, she’s more than ready for a break from her family, from Mamma’s inexplicable obsession with her finding the “Ideal Indian Husband.” Ugh. Dimple knows they must respect her principles on some level, though. If they truly believed she needed a husband right now, they wouldn’t have paid for her to attend a summer program for aspiring web developers…right?

Rishi Patel is a hopeless romantic. So when his parents tell him that his future wife will be attending the same summer program as him—where he’ll have to woo her—he’s totally on board. Because as silly as it sounds to most people in his life, Rishi wants to be arranged, believes in the power of tradition, stability, and being a part of something much bigger than himself.

Dimple and Rishi may think they have each other figured out. But when opposites clash, love works hard to prove itself in the most unexpected ways.


My Thoughts:
As an Indian-American myself, When Dimple Met Rishi was significant novel to me because it was the first time where my culture was represented and the first time where my own thoughts and beliefs were explicitly written out for the world to read. Not only do I applaud Sandhya Menon for writing such an amazing novel full of humor (seriously, you will have laugh out loud moments), but also bringing relatable characters likeDimple and Rishi to life.

Rishi (who is absolutely precious) is a hopeless romantic who wants nothing more than 20170602_200922to be the perfect son to please his parents and settle down with Dimple; while Dimple is a headstrong woman who is puts passion behind her work and will do everything in her power to become a web developer. As you can see, both characters are total opposites of one another and have the potential to butt heads; which in my opinion, were the best parts of Menon’s novel! I loved when Dimple and Rishi were forced to discuss issues or topics that constantly challenged their beliefs and moral obligations, because it illustrated how different each character was without taking away from their individuality. You never lost who Dimple and Rishi were even as their relationship developed over the course of the book.

I also loved how Menon used hindi in her novel! Lots of character personality can be found in the dialogue alone! The way Dimple and her mother converse or how Dimple and Rishi connected over hindi songs! The incorporation of two languages intertwining together really made this novel more inclusive to Indian culture. And overall, I really enjoyed reading When Dimple Met Rishi! I couldn’t imagine a more humorous, relatable, and not to mention steamy novel than Menon’s.

And if I had to describe When Dimple Met Rishi in 5 words or less:
Your next YA Rom-Com read.

4 Stars

 

Look out for Sandhya’s next book coming out in the summer of 2018: From Twinkle, With Love

Website | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

 

P.S. – I also had the opportunity to not only meet but moderate Sandhya Menon’s event at Hicklebee’s! Check out some of the highlights below!


Some of my favorite quotes from the novel!

“This is our life. We get to decide the rules. We get to say what goes and what stays, what matters and what doesn’t.”

“Hello, future wife,” he said, his voice bubbling with glee. “I can’t wait to get started on the rest of our lives!” -Rishi (pg. 25)

“You’re Dimple Shah, right? From Fresno? The daughter of Vijay and Leena Shah?”
Her eyes widened and she stepped back. “You know an awful lot about me.”QuoteOh great. Now he was freaking out again. He should just say it. “That’s because we…we’re supposed to be getting married.”
– Rishi (pg. 33)

“But even here, where it should just be about me and my career and the things I want to do in this wold, I have to contend with you. I have to remember, every single second that I have to look at you, that the only reason I’m here is because my parents expect me to finally fall in line. To become that dutiful Indian daughter they always wanted. I thought this was going to be my chance to just be me, for this whole six weeks to just be about my skills and my talent and my intellect. But it turns out the joke’s on me. And you know what? I’m tired of it. I’m tired of it and it sucks.” -Dimple (pg. 63)

“And then she smiled a smile so dazzling, Rishi tripped over his own feet.” (pg. 66)

“They weren’t more than three inches apart. Strange things were happening in the pit of his stomach. Fun things.” (pg. 72)

He pressed the chrysanthemum into her small, sweaty hand. “Keep it,” he said, his gaze boring into hers…”Remember me.” He paused. “And don’t tattle.” (pg. 179)

 

One thought on “When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

Leave a Reply

